Deer Antlers

I know it’s been more than a week since I’ve posted, but I’ve been pretty busy.  I’ve actually been able to make some headway with a project I’ve been working on to make doorknockers for each house of the Game of Thrones series (great series, have yet to read the books, I know, Blasphemy!)  I got the idea when doing a tutorial in the first chapter of Scott Spencer’s ZBrush Character Creation book, which is to make a Lion Head doorknocker.  No need to say which house that one’s for.  I thought it would be fun to make each house and make the colors of the door knocker and door correspond with the  house colors.  I also wanted to mess with making antlers.

Image

Here’s a bit of my tinkering.  I made the head shape from a 3d plane and the antlers from a cone tool.  I used the deformation tool to get the initial shape and bend and then used the move brush to make the additional juts.  I really like how the antlers came out. I think my next step is to cut around the head to separate it from the rest of the plane, then make a base plate and then present the door, textures and paint.  I can’t wait to see how this comes out!  Again, I would love any tips, tricks or tutorials that anyone knows of for cutting, texturing or painting as I’m not 100% familiar with those techniques in Zbrush.

 

Thanks for stopping by! =)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

